Being a part of the Humane Generation; free-writing on what it means to me

 

Sheep2
Yours truly with a resident sheep at Woodstock Sanctuary in High Falls, NY 

Un-sheepishly, I consider myself a proactive participant in creating a more humane world.  I’m inspired daily by the growing compassion of our generation, and by the number of people willing to stand up (and speak out) for what they believe is right.  For me, this starts with grassroots outreach; influencing friends, family, co-workers, my community- anyone even the slightest bit open to learning the truth about animal exploitation- by simply living in a way that naturally reflects care and concern for animals.  I try my best to advise on best practices, lead by example and provide information so others can make informed decisions about their purchases, habits and overall lifestyle.  Sometimes I wish I didn’t care, didn’t know or didn’t look.  Ignorance surely is bliss!  But if I am not pushing for the change I want to see, given the information I have at hand, who is?  Believe it or not, living humanely amongst a society that relies heavily on animals for it’s needs, is actually becoming increasingly easier, and with that, more mainstream.   Alleluia!

I find solace in community and am lucky to work with fellow compassionate comrades at The Humane Society of the United States.  Having joined the Humane Generation / Friends of Finn committee a few years back, I have grown to feel even more confident and sure of my life’s mission: to reflect gentler mindfulness and encourage those around me to embrace stewardship toward animals.

Our committee’s direct mission is to raise funds on behalf of The HSUS Stop Puppy Mills campaign for rescue efforts as well as education and public awareness initiatives.  We work to eradicate puppy mills and promote adoption (#adoptdontshop) versus the sales of puppy mill dogs in pet shops.  Think of it this way, each year millions of perfectly lovable dogs- who are waiting to meet their forever families in overcrowded shelters all over the country- are euthanized due to a lack of space.  Meanwhile, sickly “designer” dogs are being systematically mass produced in filthy puppy mills, inadvertently winning the hearts- and taking the homes- of the misinformed public.

But the care and concern of our committee members doesn’t just stop at dogs.  All animals have the ability to feel love and they also have the ability to suffer greatly- this is usually at the hand of man and includes billions of farm animals systematically raised and slaughtered for food; wildlife caught in the poaching crisis’, humane/wildlife conflict or captured for entertainment in zoos and circuses; fur-bearers raised or trapped for apparel and accessories, and millions of animals spending their entire lives in labs for unnecessary experimentation.  The HSUS addresses all of this, and in fact, works to protect all animals.  A few HSUS HG/FoF members and I recently visited a beautiful oasis upstate called the Woodstock Sanctuary.  I recommend occasional sanctuary visits as it is usually a gentle reminder of what a peaceful existence for all animals can (and should) look like, not just for our companion dogs and cats.

Turkey3

Pig1

This is where my passion lies: to step out in selflessness and consider the lives of the oppressed and suffering, for no other reason but because humanity holds all the power and their lives matter to them.

Feel free to hop on the HSUS or Woodstock Sanctuary websites to learn how you can advocate for animals in your community.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment